Skip to content

Introduction

October 15, 2009

Welcome, friends. My name is Erin, and this is my adventure into Motherhood. My son, Daniel Braeden, was born on August 15, 2009 at 2:14AM. Even before his birth, he taught me things about myself, parenthood, and what it truly means to be a mother. Since his arrival, I have reevaluated myself, challenged some of my parenting beliefs, and found my voice. I’ll admit that I had some preconceived notions about how having a baby would be – and I don’t mean those silly “everything will be perfect” romantic ones that you so often see among young mothers. I knew this would be hard, but I didn’t expect to feel my marriage shake to its very foundation. I didn’t expect to wake up to infant squalls wishing I could just die. But I have, and I do, sometimes. And you know what? It is okay. I am okay. I’m seeking help for this depression and something my therapist (counselor? I’m not really up on the current vernacular…) suggested that I write. I like to potentially have an audience and not just keep to myself (I find that dreary and not as fulfilling) so here I am! My husband would like it if my blog earned money (and frankly, so would I as that could mean I could stay home permanently) but I’m really here for the catharsis.

Anyway, I’m a married, 22-year-old first-time-mom living in Alaska. My husband is ridiculously supportive of me, even while working and going to school full-time. I’m an unemployed (not by choice, but more on that later…) college drop-out. I’d like to go back to school, perhaps for journalism. But we shall see. Right now I have a lot of other things going on, so school has really fallen by the wayside. I’m hoping this blog will help to meet my intellectual needs. I also hope that the things I share will be helpful, if not amusing, to you.

A little more about my background, so you can get a good idea of who I am: I was born and raised in Anchorage, Alaska. I went to an optional, back-to-basics elementary/junior high school with an advanced curriculum before attending Barlett High School, where I graduated from in 2006. I am number four out of five children, and my parents will be celebrating their 35th wedding anniversary next year. My dad was career military until 2007, when he retired from the Guard and went into the civilian sector, accepting a job in Afghanistan. Each of my three brothers (all older) has served or is currently serving in the military. My mom stayed home with my younger sister and I until we were in school all day. She is now working as a teacher’s aide for the Anchorage School District in one of the middle schools.

After I graduated, I took seven credits at UAA. Yes, 7. Six of them were an EMT-I class, which is where I met my husband. I like to joke that I went to college to get my MRS…but some people don’t get it. One woman actually told me that her son had one. Seriously. Anyway, he and I started talking in March, dating in April, got engaged in September, and were married in October of 2007. It was quite the whirlwind, but when you know, you know. And this weekend, we will have been together for two and a half years.

Something you will notice, readers, is that I love to go off on tangents. So sometimes, it may seem that I’ve gone down the rabbit hole, as it were, but I will always return. This is who I am.

 

Upcoming mom-related topics: Breastfeeding challenges, battling PPD, vaccination decisions, and circumcision!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

