Skip to content

We’re in!

June 20, 2010

So we moved into the new house on Friday, finally. I don’t know why everyone was so anxious for it, because this place is a MAJOR fixer-upper. I’ll spare you the tedios details, but if you’ve seen the movie “Money Pit”…you can get the idea. 😦 The only bright side I’ve seen so far is actually having space of our own. Well…that and no more leaky, potentially dangerous air mattress!!! Which is not to say that I’m ungrateful for Dan’s cousin’s hospitality. 🙂
This tiny town doesn’t have a lot going for it…there is only one grocery store for about 20 minutes, and it closes at nine. Nine! Holy cow! But….there is an amazing, inexpensive Chinese restaurant. The people who own it are super nice and we’re becoming regulars. 🙂
Dan got a job!!!! It’s in the next town over, but it’s Monday through Friday, no weekends, and a weekly paycheck! It’s such a relief. This week was really rough on us as a couple, and that windfall really broke tensions. The job’s not the greatest, but it’s honest work and it’s ongoing. And it can be a stepping stone. I’m really nervous about Dan going back to work…having his help every day for two months has really made me dependent on him. Sure, I’ll have his parents around, but I’m really not comfortable relying on them. Dan’s mom undermined my authority with Danny the other day, and I was so taken aback that I couldn’t even correct her! Ugh. I’m really concerned about what the future holds when we try to set boundaries with people who disregard them. Living with my in-laws has been like a timewarp – like we’re teenagers again. I don’t like it at all. Neither does Dan, so we’re hoping *fingers crossed!!!* to be able to move out this fallish/next spring. Out of this house, maybe out of this town, maybe even out of this state! We desire so strongly to regain our independence and build the life we envisioned. Hopefully, we can quickly turn things around. Hopefully I can pull myself out of this funk. Hope, hope, hope.
Tonight we have this whole house to ourselves, and it is the first time we’ve had a night to just the three of us in almost two whole months. That’s insane to me. And also sweet, because I dearly love time to just the three of us. Well…four, counting Maggie. I’ve missed our stupid dog for the last two and a half weeks. It’s so nice to have her laying at our feet once more! We couldn’t have her with us before because Dan’s cousin’s landlord is way uptight about dogs. So she had to stay with one of Dan’s aunts. I’m so, so grateful for the kindness that we’ve been met with. If the people and family here were rude, it would truly make this an intolerable situation.
Well…it’s 2am, so I had better wrap this up. I’m wasting valuable quiet sleep hours!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2010 6:41 am

    I gotta say… that’s been my choice for years … lol Air mattresses. lol Close as you can get to a water bed, without the water hassles. 🙂 Futons are soooo uncomfy. 😦 I don’t know anyone that likes them… just saying. lol

    Having your own space rules…. 🙂 I’m so happy for you!!
    And girlie? You WILL get your feet on the ground and get your own place – you want it so much that it has to happen. 🙂

    Maybe when you have a confrontation with someone.. keep in mind that they think they know best. So you say – thanks. I appreciate your opinion, but I’m going to try this._….it’s up to you lovely! It’s your child. It’s your life. If they don’t like it… well, you won’t be married to them ten years down the road, and you won’t have them as your child questioning whey you did what you did…. be true to you. 🙂

    You are lucky in finding help because you get what you give in life darling. 😉 YOU ALWAYS give your best.:) So that is what you will get.
    xoxoxo Much love. 🙂

  2. June 20, 2010 6:43 am

    Hey, that went up twice. lol Can you delete one?
    🙂

    I was talking – believe it or not – to my husband the other day. I haven’t seen him for 10 or 11 years. I was so uncomfy around his family and never stood up to them. And now? You know what he says to me? They are controlling and it’s no wonder he has always run from the.

    As we get older we learn this. So do it now. Be strong and true to you… 🙂 I’m telling you this from experience. 🙂
    xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

