Skip to content

So much is going on!

August 5, 2010

Danny’s first birthday is in nine days. I can hardly believe it. It seems like just a week ago, I had a belly that looked like a basketball and cankles from retaining water…and now my little boy is walking and babbling and huge! It really is bittersweet, having a kid…every day brings such growth and wonderment, but I want to keep him as a little baby forever!
We’re really excited to have his birthday party, and we’ve planned an awesome cake! We’re making a firetruck from scratch! With homemade fondant and cream cheese frosting. I just hope that the humidity goes down by next week. Yuck. It’s been outrageously hot the last…month. XI And it just started pouring. Again. Ugh. Yesterday, we had an AMAZING lightning storm though!
I’m super stoked for school to start. I registered for classes that will help me get my nursing degree, and I’ve decided to go for that and then on to midwifery! I’m really happy with this decision. It feels so…different and incredible to finally have a solid direction for my life. And such a relief!
I also put in an application (again) for a photographer position at the Sears Portrait Studio. I haven’t gotten a call back, but Dan was talking to the department manager when he took in my application (it was more convenient to have him take it, since he had to go in for work anyway, and I had to deal with the babe at the house) and she seemed really excited to call me…but she hasn’t…and it’s been over a week. *shrug* It’s not like I’m going to have a lot of time to devote to working, anyway. I just thought it would be a fun way to earn some date night money.
Oooh ooh! Dan got a job with the new super Walmart in the bakery! I’m so happy for him! He wasn’t sure about taking it, because he has a higher earning potential at Sears (commission and all that rot) but the hourly rate at WM was more than 50 cents higher than the guaranteed wage at Sears. Combine that with living the dream and Boom!: new job! We have no idea when he’s actually starting though, because the super center isn’t opening til October, but they want him to come in for orientation ASAP.
Things have finally, truly, started looking up, and it’s such a relief. We’ve narrowed it down to two potential military branches, and either one will be a great opportunity for our family.
Well…I’m getting exhausted, so it’s time to wrap this up.
OH! Thanks, everyone, for your kind comments on my talk. It went terrifically, and I didn’t start crying until the very end! Everyone at church really enjoyed it. I was shaking the whole time, but no one seemed to notice. Dan didn’t shake, and he did really well, too.
Okay, now I’m done for the night. I think. Teehee.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 6, 2010 9:19 am

    It’s always great to hear good news! I’m very happy for you!

    Enjoy the birthday party! Are there going to be pix posted of the fire truck? lol šŸ™‚

    Love you lady.
    T.

Leave a Reply

