Skip to content

A new year, a new leaf…a new life.

January 16, 2011

Okay, the long-anticipated (by so many, I know! Haha…) update finally is here! I’m going to break things down into categories, just to make this a little easier to follow, because a lot has happened and changed in the last few months.

The Move
We were planning, up until about two weeks or so ago, to move to West Jordan, UT. We were really looking forward to immersing ourselves in the church culture out there and just hoping to flourish. We were really homesick, especially me, though, and after a lot of discussion, prayer, and a request for some assistance on Facebook (which was overwhelmingly responded to!), we found that our willingness to move somewhere totally foreign to us was enough and that it was truly time to go home. So we’re moving back to Alaska in…6 days! Hooray! I’m so excited and I can’t wait to reunite with my family and our friends. Some relationships have changed, as they do, but we’re hoping to slip right back in to our old groove without too much of an adjustment period. We’ve got interviews lined up for Dan and we’re thisclose to getting our apartment locked down. Yay!

School
The fall semester didn’t work out so well for me – I was too sick for too long and had to withdraw from the university to protect my GPA. For all the hassle and stress and debt that has caused me, I almost wish I had taken the stupid Fs. Penn State apparently pays some of your student loans back immediately for you, which is kind of nice, but it takes away the cushion of deferment periods. So I have to cough up a pretty significant amount of money before I can take classes there…ever again. Thankfully, I can make payments, and I’m hoping to keep that account out of collections. Unfortunately, it means my education is on hold, again. I’m planning to re-enroll for fall at UAA, though, since they offer a really extensive amount of online courses and are pretty fairly priced. It’s just as well that I’m not taking any classes this semester, because on top of everything else, I really think it would be too much. I only get brief bursts of energy, usually in the evening, in time to make an awesome dinner.

Sickness
No, I’m not dying. If you’re not on my facebook or don’t know me from babycenter, you don’t know that I’m 18 weeks pregnant! We’re really thrilled for this baby, even though I have been so sick and there have been some (thankfully) minor complications. It’s going to be a new kind of tough with two under three (Danny will be 2 in August, two months after this one is due), but I’m still looking forward to having at least these kids close together. I get hyperemesis while pregnant, so it’s going to be a while, I hope, between the child I’m carrying and our third. I’d like to at least get half-way to a degree! I won’t go so far as to take a Duggar-esque point of view on it, but the Lord will give us children as he sees fit, and we’re probably going to be due for an “oops” after two planned pregnancies. 🙂

All in all, 2011 is shaping up to be an exciting, busy year. We’ve managed to catch all the flus and colds going around, but the boys and I are finally starting to feel better, just in time to travel! Danny is cutting several teeth, and his vocabulary is exploding. He already has several two-word phrases! He’s so impressive, to me; just watching him grow from day to day feels like a miracle. I’m so grateful to be a mom. All of the PPD and screaming and yucky issues aside, I really feel like there’s nothing so fulfilling as being a parent. Baby kisses and hugs are the sweetest, quickest ways to de-stress that I know of.

So, here is to an awesome year full of love and fun, and hopefully I’ll stop being such a slacker and post more regularly!

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 16, 2011 5:37 pm

    Sounds terrific and exciting!
    I’m happy for you!!

    And yes, please do squeeze in some more blogs..you just aren’t busy enough. lol
    Much love.
    T. xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

