Skip to content

Eons later…

November 29, 2011

The last few months have blown by so quickly, I can hardly believe it. I started school again, and I’m doing really well. Right now, I’ve got a solid 3.7 GPA, and if I can swing it, I should end the semester with a perfect 4.0! It’s tough, going to school and having two kids, but it’s so worth it. Online classes make it so much easier to deal with! Next semester, I’m taking an in-person class, but I’m really excited for it – beginning drawing! I know it’s really not nursing related at all, but I think it will be really fun and good for me. Plus, I’m taking two sciences and a math…so I think I deserve a class that will help me blow off some steam.
Oliver is huge. He’s over 20 pounds now, and still exclusively breastfed. I put him in 12mo size pants today, and they fit! He’s such a funny, sweet baby. And he loves his family so clearly. Danny is an excellent brother, and there’s already a deep bond between the boys. I wasn’t prepared for how much my heart would grow, having two kids. When they play together, I feel as though I’m going to explode with love and joy. It’s just amazing. They are so genuine and full of joy. I love listening to them laugh together. šŸ™‚
What brings me back to the blog, tonight, is the concept of “surrogate families”. I don’t mean the type of surrogate who carries a baby for an otherwise unable set of parents, but people who come into your life and become family.
In Pennsylvania, at church, Dan and I met an amazing older couple. They were on what our church calls a “senior mission”, which is 18 months of serving somewhere in the world, as a married couple. This couple, who I’ll refer to as the Novas, pretty much became grandparents to us. We’d go to their home for meals and to just hang out, they’d play with Danny, they’d come and visit us. It was wonderful, especially since I was feeling so displaced and alone. They came into our lives exactly when we needed them.
I’ve been foolish and haven’t kept in touch with them as I should. I’m terrible at that. Finding family, of any origin, is so exceptional. Sharing love, laughter, and joy is so important, especially as this world seems to fall apart in front of our eyes.
This holiday season, dear readers, I encourage you to reach out to those you love, and perhaps have lost touch with for a while, and remind them of how special they are to you. I know I’ll be reaching out to the Novas this week. I miss them terribly.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

